旧衣新生-纺织品整理聚会

日期发表 由Nika Zobec发表

2018年5月26日,周六,绿色倡议伴随着嘉柏国际集团的支持,组织了第三次纺织品整理聚会。超过80名志愿者穿梭于来自公司捐赠和嘉柏国际集团协助收集的成堆衣物,帮助整理分类。

当天的志愿者们有来自花旗中国、嘉柏国际集团、上海笑有服饰和上海普华永道的员工及来自社区的热情志愿者们。一天的时间,志愿者整理了大约30立方米的衣服、书籍、电子产品和废弃布料--这相当于一个20英尺海运集装箱的量。本次活动预防了它们走进垃圾堆埋场的命运,并延续了服饰的寿命。

(一个20英尺海运集装箱是长这样的)

Joan Elizalde,青阶教育的创始人,也是绿色倡议的亲密合作伙伴,与志愿者们开展了一场互动工作坊并增强了大家对此问题的意识。他带领了全天的整理活动并与大家一起将衣物根据年龄段、性别、季节和用途分类。公益组织宝贝爱蓝天也参与了整理聚会,并找到大量童衣匹配他们的捐赠项目需求。

整理好的衣物将由绿色倡议的合作伙伴宝贝爱蓝天和飞蚂蚁运送至国内各地:如捐赠给有需求的孩子,不可穿带衣物作回收处理,低质量衣物作下降循环再利用。

值得关注的一点是废弃纺织品类占了最大一板块。志愿者发现了许多箱纯布料样本或带有破洞的新衣。这也许是因为质量没有达标或是因为库存过多无法销售所导致的。

想象一下这些样本可以为多少人提供服饰!

其他吸人眼球的发现还有一件婚礼裙,一整箱崭新的公司制服和许多原封不动带有标签的服饰。

充满志愿者热情与欢笑的活动也给大家带来了许多深思。淹没在衣物之海的一天引发大家去思考,我们是否该放慢脚步,更有意识的对待我们的消费选择呢?我们应在哪划下欲望和需求的界线?

我们还发现另外一个现象,女款服饰量相当于男款、儿童服饰、鞋类和玩具的总量。这让人们质疑:为什么快时尚产业仍在通过‘多即是好’或‘每周新时尚’的理念推销它们的产品呢?

你能如何行

  • 减少衣物购置
  • 与亲朋好友互换衣柜
  • 动手缝补破旧衣服
  • 捐赠不穿的衣服至上海回收点
  • 在二手衣店淘货
  • 加入旧衣新生纺织品整理聚会
  • 向周围散播可持续时尚的理念!

请参考绿色倡议先前的文章进一步了解产业的状况:回收不是解决问题的方式,而是没有选择的选择!

关于旧衣新生

旧衣新生在2016年12月由绿色倡议发起,项目立志于改变消费者对快时尚的心态,并改善我们对多余衣物的处理方式。此项目由宣传活动(影片播放、工作坊、互动活动等)及废弃布料回收系统组成,并已在中国的不同公司和教育机构开展。

嘉柏国际集团上海办公室为绿色倡议旧衣新生发起初始至今的长期合作伙伴,负责整个项目的后勤工作。

如果你的组织或公司想支持我们的项目,请联系info@greeninitiatives.cn

更多请见www.greeninitiatives.cn/reform

REFORM Textile Sorting Party at Crown Warehouse Shanghai

Published on by Nika Zobec

Green Initiatives, with support from Crown Worldwide Group, organized their 3rd clothes sorting party on Saturday, 26th May 2018. This activity saw over 80 volunteers spend their day sorting through piles of clothes collected from the recycling boxes and warehouses of partners of RE: FORM.

Further, employee volunteers from Citi China, Crown Worldwide, Kleeklee / ZucZug and PwC Shanghai participated in the activity, along with enthusiastic community volunteers. Over the course of the day, about 30 cubic meters of clothes, books, electronics and other kinds of textile waste – roughly equivalent to a 20-foot ocean shipping container, were sorted out; thus preventing these items from ending up in the landfill, and in the case of clothes, further extending their life.

(This is what a 20-ft shipping container looks like)

Joan Elizalde, founder of Green Steps, and a close partner of Green Initiatives conducted an interactive workshop with the participants to further raise awareness of the problem. He led the entire session and worked with the volunteers to sort the clothes into different categories according to age, gender, seasonality and usability. BlueSky4Children, a non-profit organization whose missions is to provide children in rural China with all-season clothing, was also present at the sorting party and were able to find kids clothes to match their targeted donation program.

Through GI’s partnership with BlueSky4Children and Feimayi, the sorted clothes will be shipped to different parts of the country for any of these purposes: donation to children in need of these items, recycled – where the clothing quality is too low for re-use, downcycled to make items of lesser value but various uses.

"This is my first time to participate in a clothes sorting event, and I was really overwhelmed with the volume of clothes collected. Textile waste is a really serious issue in China"

Fiona Zhao, community volunteer

A key point to note is that the discarded textile waste category was the largest of the entire lot. Volunteers found many boxes of textile samples and brand-new clothes cut or shredded by clothing brands, either because they did not meet the required quality standards or they were excess inventory that could not be sold.

Just imagine how many people could have been clothed with these samples!

Participating in the Clothes Sorting Party, we have a clearer understanding of the way we dispose the excess clothes, how the donated clothes are sorted and where they will go.

- Wang LiPing, Kleeklee / ZucZug Fashion

Other interesting findings that popped up were a wedding gown, a full box of untouched company uniform and many clothes with their tags still intact.

This is the second time i joined the sorting party and I enjoyed both times very much. I am so proud to work along with my colleagues to help sorting out the donated items and repacking them to be delivered to those who really need them. Also it gave me a chance to review my own consumption habit and take my actions to protect the environment. 

- Xuan Wang, Citi China

While the event was quite light hearted and the participants had a lot of fun sorting through the clothes, it did leave them with a lot to think about. Spending an entire day amongst piles of clothes left people pondering how they could slow down and be more conscious about their own purchase choices. Where do we draw the line between want and need?

The fact that the quantity of women’s clothing collected was more than all of the men’s, kids, shoes and toys put together, left people wondering if why the fast fashion brands continue to sell their products through the idea of ‘more is good’ and/or ‘fashion changes every week’!

What You Can Do Next

  • Buy less!
  • Swap your clothes with friends and family
  • Be crafty and creative to sew or fix your torn clothes
  • Donate unneeded clothes to drop-off locations all over town
  • If you do need more clothes, support second-hand clothes stores
  • Participate in the next RE: FORM sorting party
  • Spread the message with people around you

Please read this article by Green Initiatives to further understand the state of the industry: Recycling is NOT the solution, it is the LAST option!

About RE: FORM

RE: FORM was launched by Green Initiatives in December 2016 with the aim to change consumers’ mindset about fast fashion and the way we dispose of our excess clothes. The project is being implemented in various schools and companies based in China through awareness sessions (film screenings, workshops, interactive activities, etc) combined with a responsible textile waste collection system.

The Shanghai office of the Crown Worldwide Group has been participating with Green Initiatives on this initiative ever since the project launch and handles the entire project logistics.


If you would like your organization to support the project please write to info@greeninitiatives.cn

More details may also be found at www.greeninitiatives.cn/reform