电子回收计划

2016年5月1日 - 2021年12月31日

 

2016年5月,绿色倡议启动了“WE”计划,为合理回收电子废弃物提供系统、透明、安全、环保的可能性,让废弃和损坏的电子物品有合适的去处。这一计划将减少被填埋或焚烧的电子产品数量,从而减少直接进入空气、水和土壤的毒性物质的数量。

电子废弃物的合理处理刻不容缓,不论是个人还是各类团体,都能贡献自己的力量。为你的电子废弃物找一个更合适的家!

项目介绍

根据联合国大学的一个报告,中国每年产生大约600万吨电子垃圾 。电子垃圾含有大量的有毒物质,但70%的电子废弃物没有以合适的方式回收,而是直接被填埋,这样的做法不仅破坏环境,更是对人类健康的威胁。

如何参与

作为消费者,在你想要买电子产品时,请三思而后行。你真的需要每年更换手机吗?你真的需要一个更大尺寸的电视机吗?

每一次的消费行为对环境都会有影响。如果你精简自己的消费习惯,不仅省钱,更能保护环境!

  • 作为个人,将电子废弃物放入我们的回收箱,而不是直接将它们扔入垃圾桶。
  • 如果你在大公司或学校工作,我们希望能在你们的所在地放置一个回收箱,箱子的外表将带有所在地点企业/学校的logo或标示,并有专人定时上门收集废弃物品。我们也将在回收箱所在地进行一次线下宣讲活动,并帮助组织第一次电子废弃物回收活动。同时,如果企业/学校有大批量的电子产品置换计划,我们也有合作伙伴可以提供翻新服务,将所有电子产品安全环保地回收再利用。
  • 如果你在酒店、饭店或咖啡店工作,我们也希望能在店里放置回收箱,并在我们的地图上显示。
  • 如果你在一家电子产品零部件生产公司,有大批量的废弃物需要处理,也欢迎联系我们,我们可以定制上门收集安排。

 

回收指南

“WE”回收箱可回收的电子产品

  • 小型家用电器:吸尘器、电熨斗、烤面包机、咖啡机、钟、吹风机、电动牙刷等。
  • IT和通讯设备:笔记本电脑、平板电脑、台式电脑和相关配件、计算器、电话、手机登。
  • 媒体播放设备和存储设备:CD、DVD、蓝光碟和USB。
  • 电子消费品:相机、乐器、音频设备、摄像机、录像机、电视屏幕、录音机和音频系统。
  • 电子工具:电钻、缝纫机、焊接工具、园艺工具等。
  • 玩具、娱乐设备和运动设备:手持视频游戏控制系统、视频游戏、电动火车或汽车等。
  • 监控设备:烟雾探测器、热感控制器、恒温器、测量设备、称重设备等。

“WE”回收箱无法处理的电子废弃物

以下物品不属于可投入电子废弃物回收箱的类别:

  • 灯泡
  • 专业实验室/医疗设备
  • 大小超过30x30厘米的设备 (请联系我们为处理大型电器)

电子废弃物回收流程

被投递在回收箱中的电子废弃物每几个月会被收集一次,集中送往经过认证的拆解工厂。在工厂里,一些可拆解的部件如塑料、玻璃、环氧、铜、金银等贵金属等会被拆解再利用,一些部件会被再次利用于制造长椅和同类材质的门和塑料芯片等。

公共回收地点

Here's a list of locations where you can drop-off your electronic items (Google Map link):

请参阅下面的地址列表。

公共回收地点:

静安区

  • ANKEN Life @ 昌化路667号
  • URBN Hotel @静安区胶州路183号雅悦酒店,靠近新闸路
  • Shanghai Center @上海南京西路1376号公寓大堂、办公楼大堂B楼
  • Xinchejian @ 海市静安区愚园东路28号3号楼1楼

徐汇区

  • WeWork @湖南路, 328 湖南路

浦东

  • Community Center Shanghai, 上海 浦东新区 金桥 碧云路1146号A座3层(靠近黄杨路)

长宁区

  • Anken Air @ 镇宁路465弄181号

闵行区

  • Community Center Shanghai, 上海闵行区华漕镇幸乐东路360号2楼

浦东区

  • Community Center Shanghai, 上海 浦东新区 金桥 碧云路1146号A座3层(靠近黄杨路)

私人回收地点: 

  • Aden 埃顿,上海徐汇区襄阳南路218号现代大厦A楼4层
  • 英孚教育, 静安区铜仁路258号久安广场1楼
  • 上海德威外籍人员子女学校(浦西), 上海德威外籍人员子女学校(浦西)闵行区茜浦泾路2000号
  • 穆氏建筑设计(上海)有限公司,上海市长宁区遵义路100号虹桥南丰城A座11楼
  • 普华永道创新中心,黄浦区湖滨路168号无限极芸购物中心

*请注意,私人场所仅适用于允许进入大楼的人员,即员工和/或顾客。

更多信息关于电子废弃物

电子废弃物几乎囊括所有直接被丢弃、没有被再回收利用的电子、电器产品。这个数量级正急速扩大的废弃物类别包括电脑、电视、手机、玩具和其他小型电子产品,也包括冰箱、空调、家庭娱乐设备和其他大型家用电器。

当技术革命点亮我们的生活方式和交流效率,它同时也给我们的生活带来更多阴暗的角落。电子制造业是世上最大也发展最快的行业之一。快速发展的结果是对稀缺原材料的大量需求和以惊人速度增长的相关废弃物数量。与此同时,由电子废弃物带来的水污染、土壤和空气污染却一直没有得到人们的关注,电子废弃物的处置也没有使用既环保又安全的方式。不论是国家层面还是社区层面,电子废弃物的处置问题都没有得到广泛的关注和重视,也并没有减少相关不利影响的解决方案。

数据信息的安全性和机密性一定是所有赞助商,不管是学校、企业或是大型组织都关注的问题。因此,我们确保回收电子废弃物的步骤中包括机械拆除和破碎过程,所有数据在电子废弃物被回收后的第一时间即会被销毁。

• 全世界每年产生约4000万吨电子垃圾。这相当于每秒钟扔掉800台笔记本电脑。
• 手机用户平均每18个月更换一次手机。
• 在所有有毒废弃物中,电子垃圾占70%,而其中只有约10 - 15%的电子垃圾被以正确方式回收。有这一现象的部分原因:电子产品的回收过程困难程度高、危险程度大、成本也很高。
• 85%的电子垃圾被直接送到垃圾填埋场或焚烧厂,而大部分焚烧会将毒气直接排入空气。
• 美国和大多数国家的电子垃圾有80%都被运往亚洲。其中很大一部分是非法进入中国进行填埋或焚烧的。因此,中国不仅面临国内污染的挑战,还有非法进入的电子垃圾污染。
• 电子废弃物中有数百种不同的物质,其中很多都是有毒物质。当电子废弃物被填埋或焚烧时,这些毒素被直接释放到土壤、水和空气中,对环境和健康带来影响。可能引发的健康问题有精神发育障碍、癌症和对肺部、肝脏和肾脏的伤害。
• 最常见的电子废弃物包括液晶台式显示器、液晶电视、等离子电视和有阴极射线管的电视和电脑。
电子设备的生产过程属于资源密集型。联合国调查表明,一套电脑和显示屏的生产过程消耗至少240公斤的化石燃料、22公斤的化学品和1500公升水,比一只犀牛或一台汽车都要重。
• 与许多家用电器相比,电脑的使用周期和消耗能量中,81%由生产过程产生,而仅有19%在操作过程中产生。

1. 防止有毒物质对环境的污染—电子废弃物有上百种化学元素组成,其中许多是有毒的。当这些有毒物质没有被正确处理时,毒素将直接危害土地或水资源,对动物和人类构成直接危害。

2. 获取有价值的资源—电子产品中含有金银等贵金属,联合国大学的报告显示,仅2014年一年,废弃电子物中的贵金属或其他稀有材料的总价值就达520亿美元,有106.6亿美元是黄金;一吨的电路板包含的黄金数量是美国开采一吨矿石所得黄金的40-800倍,开采一吨矿石可得的铜数量的30-40倍。

3. 节约能源—回收10公斤铝制品所消耗的资源只有最初生产铝制品时的十分之一。回收10公斤铝制品,也意味着减少了13公斤铝土矿残渣、20公斤的二氧化碳和0.11公斤的二氧化硫排放和其他污染。

4. 教育意义与社群发展—大多数企业置换电脑时,那些电脑的配置其实还远没有到不能用的程度。经过基本的翻新,这些电脑能被学校和公益组织再次使用。也许你所在的公司也有这样的情况,如果能参与到“WE”计划中,那获益的不仅是获得这些翻新电脑的学校或组织,更是整个社区的良性发展。

除此之外,当有回收再利用的实例发生时,公司的关联群体会对电子废弃物的危害和对环境造成的影响有更深刻的认识。“WE”计划含有一部分偏远乡村地区建设再生电脑教室计划,企业员工更能为偏远地区教育、技能培养贡献自己的力量。

5. 支持企业参与电子废弃物的环保回收—即使电子废弃物无法翻新再利用,企业通过选用正规的处置回收系统也一样是对安全有效处理电子废弃物的切实支持。

合作伙伴

The [WE] Project

01 May 2016 - 31 December 2021

 

Launched in May 2016, this recycling initiative aims to provide the local community with a transparent, systematic and environmentally-friendly way to dispose off unwanted and broken electronic products. This process reduces the number of items that are buried in landfills or incinerated, with the additional benefit of preventing toxins that damage our health from being released into the air, water, and soil.

OVERVIEW

China generates roughly 6 million ton of e-waste per year, according to a UNU report.

E-waste contain a lot of toxic materials, yet roughly 70% of this waste either goes directly to landfill or is recycled through informal processes, which are damaging our environment and a risk for human health. The need to reduce e-waste is urgent and individuals and organizations can make an immediate impact.

Let's give our used electronics a safe home!

How to Participate

As a consumer, consider carefully before you make your next electronics purchase. Every purchase decision you make has an impact on the environment. However, here are ways to dispose-off your existing electronic items:

  • As an individual, instead of throwing away your old or broken electronics, you can recycle them at one of our collection centers .
  • If you work in a company or a school, we'd love to place a collection box branded with your company/school logo in your premise and organize regular pickups. We would also come in to do a project presentation and help you organize your first electronic waste collection. Further, if your organization has large quantities of computers or telecommunication equipment that are in re-usable condition we may also be able to refurbish them put them to re-use.
  • If you work in a hotel, a restaurant or a cafe, we would like to work with you to place a collection box in your premises and organize pickups. The collection box would also serve as a collection point for the community, and your location would be added to a map with local collection points.
  • If you work in an electronic product manufacturing company that would like to safely dispose off large quantities of your product, please contact us to schedule a bulk pickup.

Recycling Guidelines

Common items that can be recycled through the [WE] box:

  • Small household appliances: Vacuum cleaner, iron, toaster, coffee machine, clock, hair dryer, electric toothbrush, batteries, etc.
  • IT and telecommunications equipment: Laptop, tablet, personal computer and related equipment, calculator, telephone, mobile phone, etc.
  • Media and storage devices: CD, DVD, blue-ray disc, and USB.
  • Consumer electronics: Camera, musical instrument, audio device, video camera, video recorder, television screen, radio and audio system.
  • Electrical and electronic tools: Drill, sewing machine, riveting or screwing tool, welding tool, gardening tool, etc.
  • Toys, leisure and sports equipment: Handheld video game console, video game, electric train or car, etc.
  • Monitoring and control instruments: Smoke detector, heating regulator, thermostat, measuring and weighing appliance.

Devices that cannot be recycled through the [WE] box

  • Light bulbs
  • Laboratory & medical devices
  • Devices bigger than 30x30cm (please contact us for disposal of large appliances)

[WE] Project Recycling Process

Used electronics that are disposed in the collection boxes would be picked up every few months and brought to a certified dismantling factory. Here, several materials and resources are extracted from the products: plastic, glass, epoxy, precious metals such as gold and silver, and non-precious metals such as copper. Some of these materials are used to make derivative products such as agglomerates for making benches and doors with plastic and epoxy, plastic chips, etc.

Drop-Off Points in Shanghai

Here's a list of locations where you can drop-off your electronic items (Google Map link):

If you’re having issues with the map, please see below for a list of addresses.

Public Drop-Off Locations:

Jing’an Area
ANKEN Life @ 677 Changhua Rd
URBN Hotel @183 Jiaozhou Road, Hotel Lobby
Shanghai Center @1376 Nan Jing West Road Shanghai -- Apartment and Office building Lobby - Level B
Xinchejian @ East Yuyuan Rd, Number 28, Building 3, Floor 1

Xuhui Area
WeWork @Hunan Road, 328 Hunan Road, Near Gaoyou Road

Pudong Area
Community Center Shanghai, 1146 Biyun Rd, Tower A, 3rd Floor

Changning Area
Anken Air @ No.181, 465 Zhenning Rd

Minhang Area
Community Center Shanghai, 360 Xing Le East Lu, 2nd Floor

Private Drop-Off Locations:

Aden Services, XianDai Building, 218 South Xiang Yang Road 4th floor, Shanghai
EF Education First, 1/F Jiu An Plaza, 258 Tongren Lu, Shanghai
Dulwich College Shanghai Puxi, 2000 Qianpujing Road, Minhang, Shanghai
Mmoser, 11/F, Block A, Hongqiao Nanfeng City, 100 Zunyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai
PwC, Infinity Building, 168 Hubin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai

*Please note that private locations are only for people with permitted access to the building i.e. employees and/or patrons.

E-Waste Further Reading

E-waste encompasses all items and parts of electrical and electronic equipment that are being discarded without the intent of being reused. This broad and fast growing waste group includes computers, televisions, mobile phones, toys, and other small electronics as well as large household appliances such as refrigerators, air conditioners, home entertainment and much more.

While the technological revolution may have benefited the way we live and communicate while lifting many people out of poverty, there is a looming dark side to it. Electronics is one of the largest and fastest growing manufacturing industries in the world. As a result, the demand for scarce raw materials as well as the resultant waste is growing at alarming rates. In addition, clean and safe handling and discarding of e-waste has been an ignored problem for many years leading to pollution of water, soil and air. At the national and community level there is simply not enough being done to promote awareness of e-waste and to provide solutions to help reduce the impact of the electronics boom.

We understand that data security and confidentiality are top concerns for individuals and organizations that want to take part in this project. As such, with the assistance of our recycling partner, we will ensure that all devices and electronic equipment will go through a mechanical dismantling and crushing process so that all data is destroyed in the first step of the recycling process - i.e. immediately after the collection.

For computers that may be refurbished, we will manage and ensure complete erasing of the data by a professional IT engineer prior to sending to any school or NGO. Necessary contracts will be signed between key stakeholders to ensure accountability and responsibility for data protection.
For companies that require an even higher level of data elimination and wipeout, this service may be provided by our recycling partner for an additional fee.

  1. We generate around 40 million tons of e-waste every year, worldwide. That is equivalent to throwing away 800 laptops every second.
  2. An average cellphone user replaces their handset once every 18 months.
  3. E-waste comprises 70% of our overall toxic waste. Only about 10 – 15% of e-waste is recycled. Part of the problem is that recycling electronics is a difficult, dangerous and expensive process.
  4. 85% of our e-waste is sent to landfills or incinerators, where it is mostly burned, resulting in the release of harmful toxins into the air.
  5. 80% of e-waste generated in the US and other developed countries are transported to Asia. A big part of this e-waste is illegally imported into China where it is landfilled or incinerated. China thus faces the twin challenge of dealing with domestic and also imported e-waste.
  6. E-waste contains hundreds of substances of which many are toxic. When e-waste goes into landfill or is incinerated these toxins are released into the soil, water and air harming the environment and our health. Health problems associated with such toxins include impaired mental development, cancer, and damage to the lungs, liver and kidneys.
  7. The most common hazardous electronic items include LCD desktop monitors, LCD and Plasma televisions and all products with Cathode Ray Tubes (CRT). The production of electric and electronic devices is a very resource-intensive activity. A UN study found that the manufacturing of a computer and its screen takes at least 240 kg of fossil fuels, 22 kg of chemicals and 1500 liters of water - more than the weight of a rhinoceros or a car.
  8. As an example, the life cycle energy use of a computer is dominated by production (81%) as opposed to operation (19%).

1. Prevent toxins from being released into the environment – E-waste contains hundreds of substances, many of which are toxic. This includes mercury, lead, arsenic, cadmium, selenium, chromium, and flame-retardants. When e-waste is not properly dismantled these toxins leak into the air, soil and water, contaminating these for all animals and humans.
2. Retrieve valuable resources – Electronic products contain precious materials such as gold and silver. The UNU reports that the various materials found in e-waste in 2014 alone were worth around US$52billion, US$10.66 billion of that was just in gold. Likewise, one metric ton of circuit boards can contain 40 to 800 times the amount of gold and 30 to 40 times the amount of copper mined from a single metric ton of ore in the United States.
3. Save energy – Recovering 10 kilograms of aluminum via recycling uses no more than 10% of the energy required for primary production. Doing so also prevents the creation of 13 kilograms of bauxite residue, 20 kilograms of CO2 and 0.11 kilograms of sulphur dioxide emissions as well as many other emissions.
4. Education and community development – Since a large percentage of computers discarded by major organizations still have plenty of life in them, after basic refurbishment they may still be useful for schools and NGOs. You may be part of one such company and could play a key role in ensuring that your organization’s old computers are put to maximum use and community building.
Further, while creating education on the negative impact of e-waste on the environment and local communities, part of the project also focuses on creating and maintaining Green IT Classrooms for underprivileged children in rural areas, thereby also promoting rural education, skill development and computer literacy for future empowerment.
5. Support enterprises involved in sustainable e-waste treatment — In cases where e-waste cannot be refurbished and/or re-used, by choosing a formal system of recycling and dismantling you support the demand for safe and clean e-waste processing companies.

Partners